A cool blend of contemporary & retro culture

Radical artist Ben Frost turns a proposed Covid drug into one big joke

Our favourite enfant terrible of the Australian art world, Ben Frost, continues to challenge established consumer brands – bastardising logos, chopping up brand names, and chucking in icons of popular culture that totally contradict big brands’ missions.

This modern-day art menace-slash-genius will take just about any traditional packaging and turn it into something altogether fucked-up and fabulous.

Krispy Kreme labels turned naughty hentai; McDonald’s gone Nightmare on Elm Street; Disney gone S&M; it appears no big corporation is safe from Frost’s fanatical tampering.

The week sees the release of a five-piece ‘Joker Brand’ series featuring DC Comics’ original Joker emblazoned over large painted packets of Ivermectin.

For those who don’t know, Ivermectin an anti-parasitic drug that was initially used to treat pigs infested with heartworm. In 1987, the drug was approved for human use, and today it’s used to treat everything from head lice to scabies to even Covid by some freakish practitioners.

Using his usual resources of acrylic and spray paint, Frost has stenciled the face of The Joker and that very questionable drug over canvas stretching 60cm x 60cm.

There are only 5 artworks available, each with a slight difference, being the colour of the Clown Prince’s eyes.

See the release times below, and send any enquiries you might have to info@benfrostisdead.com.

Nothing left to say here, really, except for HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA!

Antonino Tati

 

RELEASE TIME
Los Angeles – Thursday, March 3rd – 3:00 pm
New York – Thursday, March 3rd – 6:00 pm
London – Thursday, March 3rd – 11:00 pm
Melbourne, Australia – Friday, March 4th – 10:00 am

 

 

 

Feel free to leave a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: