Winners of this year’s AACTA awards include Nicole Kidman, Kate Winslet and director Jane Campion

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts, otherwise known under the clever acronym of ‘AACTA’, announced the winners of its 11th awards ceremony today, honouring achievements in screen excellence.

The Power of the Dog, a western psychological drama written, produced, and directed by AACTA award-winner Jane Campion, walked away with three wins including Best Film, Best Lead Actor (Benedict Cumberbatch) and Best Supporting Actor (Kodi Smit-Mcphee).

Said Cumberbatch: “I am so humbled and grateful to receive your Best Actor Award… To get this from your industry, and what an industry, you are world leaders, and your exports are iconic, and trailblazing, and inspirational, and have been to me throughout my career.”

Benedict Cumberbatch in ‘Power of the Dog’.

Kate Winslet, who had previously won an AACTA award for Best Lead Actress in The Dressmaker (2015) has won this year for her role as Mare Sheehan in Mare of EasttownShe too had lovely words to say:

“I have always felt so supported by AACTA. I feel sometimes a bit like an honorary Australian because you have acknowledged me before and it always means a huge amount to be included … I have such admiration for the skill of actors and filmmakers in Australia, so thank you.”

Kate Winselt in ‘Mare of Easttown’.

Nicole Kidman won her seventh AACTA award for her portrayal of Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos, while Aussie actor Murray Bartlett took home the award for Best Lead Actor in a Series for his performance in television’s The White Lotus, a show which also won Best Comedy Series.

Said Nicole Kidman, “This is an enormous honour to accept this award … It means so much to have this acknowledged by my Australian film peers. I’m completely chuffed.”

Nicole Kidman (centre) in ‘Being the Ricardos’.

The films Belfast and Dune were also recognised, with Judi Dench honoured for Best Supporting Actress in the former, and Denis Villeneuve picking up the award for Best Direction for the latter.

The AACTA Awards used to go under the name of the AFI (Australian Film Institute) Awards but was changed to include more categories in the field of television.

Click here to view the full list of this year’s winners.

Antonino Tati

Feel free to leave a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: